Piece of Peace World Heritage LEGO Exhibit

This weekend is was my last in Hong Kong and even with everything on my To-Do list done, I couldn’t spend the weekend inside the hotel, even if it threatened to rain (and it did). Discoverhongkong.com has been a great resource for me when I had moments like this. I just browse the website a little and find something to do. This time I searched through special events and found out the Piece of Peace World Heritage LEGO Exhibit was in Hong Kong. The main exhibit features models of UNESCO World Heritage sites, built out of LEGOs. There was another display featuring the 7 wonders of the world from the American Society of Engineers. Originating in Japan, the exhibit was making its tour stop in Hong Kong.

As a child (and let’s face it, as a 20 year old) I loved building with LEGOs. I’m sure I’m not the only girl that would prefer to play with these building blocks than Barbies growing up. I once built a model of my house. Which my brother smashed. And then I cried. Yes, I still remember this event that probably occurred 10 years ago.

I had to go see this exhibit on Saturday. It sounded awesome, and it was, except for the hoards of people. And children. I know I was going to an exhibit made out of children’s toys but I could not deal with the children running around when there was barely any space to move.

Despite the reflections from the plastic encasing I managed to snap a few good photos. You’ll see some buildings you may recognize and others, maybe not so much. I’ve captioned the ones I can recognize off the top of my head. I’m kind of ashamed that I can’t do them all. Comment if you can identify the ones I can’t. And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

